fixyourownprinter.com
  Home    Reference    Forums  
  Printer Repair | Laser | InkJet | Chat | SearchSign In | Sign Up  

Help!!! banded, ghosting, and splotchy printing

Post to this thread   Post a new message thread

Help!!! banded, ghosting, and splotchy printing by PrintCasper (11/10/08 9:23 AM) reply + / -
I hope someone out there can help me isolate what's wrong with my Xerox Phaser 7700dn printer. I'm a designer who desperately needs to be able to make good prints, and with business the way it is, is not excited about spending money without knowing it will fix the problems. I feel like I've tried everything I can think of without beginning to randomly replace parts (though I don't know where I would even start).

I will try to be as detailed as possible in this post.

Recently, my printer has been printing any color in fields/patterns with banding running across it, splotchy in areas, and sometimes with ghosting of elements that appear elsewhere on the page.

I have always used a good quality paper (Hammermill 98 lb. color copier paper), and have only used Xerox replacements. I have tried adjusting the toner transfer settings, and the paper settings.

When I print out my supplies status page it indicates that nothing is in need of replacement. It is presently indicating the following;

Toner Cartridges:

Black - OK (>150 @5% coverage)
Cyan - OK (>150 @5% coverage)
Magenta - OK (>150 @5% coverage)
Yellow - OK (>150 @5% coverage)

Print Cartridges:

All 4 are at 69% of Life Remaining

Waste Cartridge - OK
Fuser - 77%
Transfer Roller - 91%
Accumulator Belt - 90%
Belt Cleaner Assembly - 70%

When I print out solid fill pages the following occurs;

Green: yellowish/whitish six inch wide faded areas with streaks running length-wise down the entire page perpendicular to the splotchiness.