fixyourownprinter.com
  Home    Reference    Forums  
  Printer Repair | Laser | InkJet | Chat | SearchSign In | Sign Up  

HOW TO DISASSEMBLE LEXMARK X75 "ALL IN ONE"

Post to this thread   Post a new message thread

HOW TO DISASSEMBLE LEXMARK X75 "ALL IN ONE" by Scottfree (edited 6/11/07 6:29 AM) reply + / -
NOTES ON SERVICING A LEXMARK X75 "ALL IN ONE" SCANNER / PRINTER

I am a professional electronics technician with over 50 years experience doing component level repairs on virtually ALL types of consumer electronics. I was recently presented with a piece of crap that Lexmark made and had a difficult time trying to get the case apart. I tried to get help from Lexmark on disassembly, but they were unwilling to help. They were also insulting and unprofessional. I was finally able to figure it out, but if you've never been there done that on this poorly designed and constructed roach, you'll find the following that pertains to disassembly VERY helpful!

1. Remove paper tray feed support by carefully prying on left and right hinges. Be careful not to break plastic hinges!

2. Remove the cover over the connectors that feed power and data to the scanner. This cover is on the top RH side of the machine (when facing it in the usual manner). The cover is removed by pressing FIRMLY down on the flat area on the top of the cover and hinging it back about 1/8 inch. It can then be lifted out. (On reassembly, note the two very small molded tits on the piece you removed. It is obvious where they will go.)

3. Remove the flat ribbon cable by pulling it straight back out of the socket . Then remove the small 4 pin plug by pulling it up from the socket. The socket is not captive in the chassis below although it appears to be. These are the ONLY items connected to the scanner assembly.