fixyourownprinter.com
  Home    Reference    Forums  
  Printer Repair | Laser | InkJet | Chat | SearchSign In | Sign Up  

Epson 2200 dumping black ink..HELP!

Post to this thread   Post a new message thread

Epson 2200 dumping black ink..HELP! by Mr. G (12/10/05 11:29 PM) reply + / -
I have an Epson 2200 which has been producing acceptable prints for 2 years. I am a professional photographer and I am careful about the media I use and all settings. I only use original Epson cartridges. Last week my printer dumped so much black ink on a print (premium lustre-best photo-standard color controls) that it was running off the page! I immediatley replaced the black ink cartridge and cleaned the heads a few times...no change. I took out and re-seated all the cartidges and cleaned the heads..no change. I dumped the software and drivers and installed the latest drivers from Epson (windows xp pro) re-seated and cleaned the heads once more...hey, now I was printing again! For a day...then the same problem occured, puddles of black ink on my prints and when I try to print regular text, I just get thick black bars across the paper where the text should be. No flashing lights, no warning messages..very strange. Epson tech's seem vague on what the problem is. Could somebody please shed some light on this. I would really appreciate it. Adrian

Re: Epson 2200 dumping black ink..HELP! by Anonymous (12/11/05 4:16 AM) reply + / -
have you changed the paper you are using lately? the only time i have seen anything like this is when the media is not compatible with the ink and the ink just runs off of the page.

Re: Re: Epson 2200 dumping black ink..HELP! by Mr. G (12/11/05 4:44 PM) reply + / -