fixyourownprinter.com
  Home    Reference    Forums  
  Printer Repair | Laser | InkJet | Chat | SearchSign In | Sign Up  

Canon Pixma MP150 Error Code 5100

Post to this thread   Post a new message thread

Canon Pixma MP150 Error Code 5100 by colleen craig (10/30/06 11:57 AM) reply+2 + / -
I've had my Canon printer for about 3 months now. All of the sudden, I noticed the intensity of color was greatly diminished. Thought I had a bum color cartridge, so I replaced with a new one, but the problem continued. I have been randomly getting a service error 5100, which instructs me to turn the printer off, then back on again, but don't know if this has anything to do with my color problems. Any idea how to fix? Tried gently cleaning inside the machine and noticed alot of extra ink to the right side where the cartridges sit. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Canon Pixma MP150 Error Code 5100 by lischynski (5/15/07 11:19 AM) reply + / -
As a technician, I have worked on tons of printers. This particular error had stumped me for a while, but I finally found the cause. As others had pointed out before, it can have alot to do with some obstruction in the print path, the gears, or ink on the clear plastic encoder strip. You're on the right track - I found the the purge cap (the white sliding mechanism that the print head parks to when it's not in use) was not lubricated well enough from factory. If you lubricate the sliders with some white grease (don't get it on the small wipers or the black caps) the mechanism can now slide more freely, and the unit can park the head properly without giving you the dreaded head homing error 5100 (or E-2-2 on the LCD display) Keep in mind that this repair will probably require you to remove the right panel off of the printer to gain access to the purge mechanism. There are two screws behind the printer, and two in front for each corrosponding side panel (the front screws are behind the grey front panel of the printer - open the top c