fixyourownprinter.com
  Home    Reference    Forums  
  Printer Repair | Laser | InkJet | Chat | SearchSign In | Sign Up  

Service error 5100

Post to this thread   Post a new message thread

Service error 5100 by Zach (9/15/04 7:39 PM) reply + / -
Can anyone help with service error 5100 on a Canon i550 printer?? Is there any fix for this short of trashing the unit?? It's just over a year old.

Re: Service error 5100 by Barry (9/16/04 5:19 AM) reply + / -
5100 is a Carriage Home Position Error.
try cleaning the plastic strip that runs the length of the carriage, it may be contaminated.
Use alcohol and a swab.

Re: Service error 5100 by bek (4/1/05 3:12 PM) reply + / -
thx for the advise.. i'll try it with my i355

Re: Service error 5100 by barbara hendricks (4/4/05 2:00 PM) reply + / -
i am new at this and have a canon bjc 250 bubble jet printer - it was working fine then it printed something and wouldnt stop - just kept printing and i hit a wrong button and now it wont print HELP!!!!!!! lol

Re: Re: Service error 5100 by Anonymous (4/6/05 10:23 PM) reply + / -
Sounds like a corrupt driver. Download a new driver for the BJC250 from the canon website, and reinstall.

Re: Service error 5100 by Anonymous (9/13/06 7:56 AM) reply + / -
Re: Service error 5100 by Barry (9/16/04 5:19 AM) reply + / -
5100 is a Carriage Home Position Error.
try cleaning the plastic strip that runs the length of the carriage, it may be contaminated.
Use alcohol and a swab.

Hi Guys,
Thanks for this forum. I had the same error - error 5100. Once I found what this error means from this forum, I started to look more closely to find the cause. I found out, even though the lever for the catridge was locked, the catridge wasn't sitting properly in the carriage and it was hitting the side of the front cover when it moves. Pushed the catridge in place and solved the problem. Thanks for this reply above by Barry, which guided me to find out the problem.